Quincy University Communication Program

Home » Archives » Sports and Athletics at QU

Sports and Athletics at QU

Is it creepy that I’m staring out my window at the football players practicing out on the Athletic Field (called A-Field) on campus?

Well, I don’t care because it’s more entertaining that work or anything else that I should be doing now. But it also brings me to another idea. Athletics. Sports are a big part of this school called QU and that’s simply because we do a lot of recruiting for our sports teams and give a lot of scholarships to athletes.

Granted, I don’t play a sport nor have I since, well, third grade when I played soccer with the park district. Okay so I did cheerleading in sixth and seventh grade but shh- I like to keep that hush, hush.

Anyway, given that I am the anti-athlete type it may seem like I wouldn’t fit in on campus… that’s definitely what it seems like when I think about the fact that the school is about 75% student athletes. Really though, it makes no difference in my daily life. So my boyfriend plays golf and does basketball stuff, some of my best friends have soccer practice every freaking day, and everyone else plays intramurals every time they come up. Whatever. I’m cool with it.

We actually offer a lot of sports, and many of them will take walk-ons if people are interested (I’ve known people who weren’t recruited to play a sport but ended up getting on scholarship for it anyway after they walked on the team and played well). Here’s what QU offers in terms of sports:

Men’s Athletics:

  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Women’s Athletics:

  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Some of our teams are actually pretty decent too. I’m not really sure about a lot of it given that I really don’t pay attention to sports standings but you can find out more at http://www.quincy.edu/Athletics/index.php.

Leave a Reply

