Quincy University Communication Program

Home » Archives » Choosing a Major

Choosing a Major

I know choosing a major can be tricky. It took me over a year to finally settle on mine. All throughout high school and into college I went through a ton of different options. First I wanted to be teacher, then a social worker, and then I randomly decided I wanted to major in English. Finally I thought I settled on graphic design until a friend of mine convinced me to just go away for school and decide once I got there. So, off to Quincy I ended up going and instead of deciding what to do I just became more and more confused. Psychology? No. History? Definitely not. Theology? I don’t think so.

At the beginning of my sophomore year of college, one of my friends actually sat me down next to her at the computer and forced me to go through the list of majors that QU had to offer. As we began narrowing them down it soon became clear that my options were significantly fewer than I had originally thought.

In the end, all I was left with was Communications, Graphic Design, or Business. Well, Business didn’t really sound that much fun to me so that was then taken off my list. In the end I decided that I probably could do more with Communications. It had a little bit of graphic design incorporated into the program and I have since declared a minor in it anyway to fulfill those creative needs. Ideally I’ll be able to find a job someday that incorporates Graphic Design with Communications but I have another year before that even begins to matter.

It’s really important to keep your strengths in mind when trying to decide what to study. For some people like me, it might not be completely obvious what your strengths are or what you’d be best at. No worries though, you don’t have to declare your major as soon as you set foot at school. Most universities and colleges don’t make you declare until the beginning of your junior year- that gives you 2 years to get the feel for things, take a couple classes you might be interested, and get used to college before dedicating yourself to something you may or may not love. Trust me, it’s a lot harder to switch majors your junior year than it is just wait to declare it.

Leave a Reply

