Quincy University Communication Program

Home » Archives » How I Found QU

How I Found QU

I had always wanted to go to a big state school. That’s kind of weird, now that I think about it, as I’m sitting here in Quincy, IL across the street from the exact opposite of a big state school- a small private school.

I looked at so many colleges and universities my junior and senior year of high school. My dad dragged me all over the state of Illinois and the surrounding area looking at schools like Eastern Illinois University, University of Illinois, U of I- Chicago, and so many more I can’t even remember them all.

But then one day I received a letter from a school called Quincy University saying that I was eligible for a scholarship based on academic performance. I tossed the letter aside but my dad found it and decided that we should look there. So, on one of my precious days off from school we packed up the car and took a little road trip down to Quincy, IL.

We took a tour, talked to some of the professors, and talked to the admissions counselor. Let me tell you, it was the most personal college visit I had ever been on. Never before had the teachers been so available and the counselors so passionate about their job and school. Sure, the school was significantly smaller than any other I had looked at but soon that became one of the perks to the school- that and the kindness of the students. As we walked around on our tour with one of the student admissions workers, everyone that we met said “Hey” or “How’s it going” (and that’s not even an exaggeration).

Basically, what I’m trying to say is that even though Quincy University may not seem like your typical concept of a great university, you shouldn’t judge its abilities and strengths based on its small exterior. I made my decision to come here soon after I was accepted and while maybe I’ve regretted it once or twice, I still love the school, my new friends, the town, the professors, and everything about it.

Leave a Reply

